Rudi’s Gluten Free Sandwich Breads

A piece of buttered toast.  To me, there is nothing as simple that is quite as satisfying.  Unfortunately, I haven’t experienced that satisfaction since having to go gluten free, as I haven’t found a gluten free sandwich bread good enough for anything more than making grilled cheese or panini-style sandwiches.  Until now.

Rudi’s Gluten-Free Sandwich Breads are the closest thing to the real thing I have ever tasted.  The line includes three flavors–Original, Multigrain and Cinnamon Raisin.

All three varieties are hearty slices of bread with a real bread texture and chewy, substantial crust.  No soft, fake bread that rolls up into a ball, like overly processed breads.  No crumbly texture that falls apart, like many gluten free breads.  Toasted and buttered, all three made me very happy to be eating bread again. 

I enjoyed these breads in so many more ways, though, and I’d like to share them with you.  The Cinnamon Raisin variety has a nice cinnamon flavor and soft raisins without being sweet.  Toasted and cut into smaller squares, I included the Cinnamon Raisin toasts in a cheese platter paired with wine for company.  Every last square was eaten.  Not a single person could tell they were gluten free.  The Cinnamon Raisin is also great for making French toast.

The Multigrain and Original flavors stood up beautifully to a variety of common uses.  In addition to using them for sandwiches and toast, I enjoyed these varieties for sopping up soups and sauces, making croutons and as the base for one of my favorite desserts…bread pudding. 

From a nutrition perspective, Rudi’s gluten free breads have come a long way from what has been out on the market.  The three varieties contain no chemicals, preservatives, modified starches or gums.  As research and development for gluten free baking continues to progress, I would like to see Rudi’s gluten free breads contain whole grains and offer at least 2 grams of fiber per serving, especially for slices as hearty as these.  This is not a criticism, as the gluten free food industry is in its infancy stages and requires some time to learn how to work with gluten free whole grains.

Sandwich breads have been out of my diet since I went gluten free.  There was never a brand I liked enough to warrant eating more than a first try and I never eat a gluten-free alternative just for the sake of eating the alternative.

I have finally found a gluten free sandwich bread that I will purchase regularly and keep on hand in my freezer.  Better yet, my gluten-eating husband really likes the bread, too!

Thank you, Rudi’s, for making a gluten-free bread alternative that doesn’t taste like an alternative.  What’s next?

3 responses to “Rudi’s Gluten Free Sandwich Breads

  1. I agree! Their bread makes great sandwiches, great french toast, great regular ol’ toast, and great croutons. I do, however, agree with you about Rudi’s upping the nutritional profile of the bread. That would go a long way towards it getting a 10 in my gluten free book.

    Ellen

  2. We’re so glad you enjoyed the breads! Love that your gluten-eating husband likes them, too.
    Thanks for mentioning the nutritional profile, too. We are always looking for ways to make our breads even better.
    Thanks again!

    Best,
    Dayna Davis
    On Behalf of Rudi’s Gluten-Free Bakery

  3. Pingback: January Comes to an End, Week in Review

Leave a Reply

