Mary’s Gone Crackers

It’s rare for me to go crazy over a packaged gluten-free product.  For me to get truly excited about a product, there can be absolutely no compromise on taste AND it must  be minimially processed with no artificial ingredients.  Well, I’ve met my match with Mary’s Gone Crackers.    

Every time I go food shopping, I pick one new gluten-free item to try.  Mary’s Gone Crackers has made the short list so many times, but never the final cut until this time, because frankly, crackers generally don’t excite me.  I took them off the weekly grocery list a long time ago (even before having to go gluten-free), because very few passed nutrition muster.

 I read the ingredients list on the Onion variety and was genuinely excited…a gluten-free cracker that passed the first test, good nutrition.  Upon reading the back panel, I smiled to myself when I came across the question that addressed the second test, flavor… “How can rice and seeds taste so good?” 

Well, I’ll tell you…the brown rice, quinoa, flax seeds, sesame seeds, dried onion, tamari and sea salt tasted damn good.  Mary’s Gone Crackers managed to cook up a thin, delicately crisp cracker that holds together well and has a nutty, toasted sesame and sweet onion flavor.

In addition to being gluten-free, Mary’s Gone Crackers is vegan, dairy-free, trans-fat free and made from organic, non-GMO ingredients with no added oils or fats.   One serving of 13 crackers (yes 13 crackers) contains only 140 calories, 5 grams of fat and 190 milligrams of sodium, while boasting 3 grams of fiber and 450 milligrams of omega-3 fatty acids

Kudos to Mary and her team.  There is absolutely no compromising going on with this product.  Next time I’m at the grocery store, Mary’s Gone Crackers is sure to be #1 on my list…it’s just a matter of which product I try!

For more information, visit www.marysgonecrackers.com.

To read Mary’s Conscious Eaters blog, go to marysgonecrackers.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

