The Gluten-Free Move

I’ve been living in the same place since being diagnosed and going gluten-free in May of 2009, and today I am moving.  All of the time and research spent finding the restaurants, cafes and grocers that provide the best gluten-free options has to be replicated.   For many, this may seem like a chore.  I, on the other hand, am excited.  Here’s my game plan…in case you’re interested.

The gluten-free know what I mean.  It takes a long time to find the restaurants, eateries and markets that make you feel comfortable and, once you do, things become a little easier.  This is what I refer to as the “gluten-free groove” – the ease and comfort knowing you have a routine down for eating safely.

While I appreciate being in the gluten-free groove, I am excited about my move.  It is an opportunity to get out of my groove and try new foods and eat at new restaurants.  I am not a habitual eater and that has been the biggest disappointment for me in going gluten-free…the lack of spontaneity and variety. 

Here is my game plan for creating my new groove:

  • Utilize the Gluten-Free Restaurant Awareness Program (GFRAP) to identify gluten-free restaurants and menus near to me
  • Engage in my local celiac/gluten-free listserve to identify reliable restaurants that may not be certified through GFRAP
  • Sign up for my local celiac/gluten intolerance support group (for me that is the Westchester Celiac Sprue Support Group)
  • Identify the local grocers and markets I’ll be frequenting to perhaps find new gluten-free products I haven’t yet come across and ask the manager to purchase items I like that they may not carry
  • Stop by those restaurants that seem appealing to check out the variety of gluten-free items on the menu and talk to the manager to see how accommodating they can be
  • Do a search of my local papers’ food sections/writers to see if any gluten-free food and/or restaurant reviews have been done

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Oh, and by the way, if any of you live in Westchester County, NY and can make recommendations, please do.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

