The Gluten-free Move: Making a House a Home

Courtesy of countryheart.co.uk

My new house already feels like a home to me.  You are probably asking how this is possible when I’ve only been living here for three days.  It’s easy, I did all the things that ground and comfort me…just in my new surroundings.

  • WALKED–amongst all the unpacking I made sure to fit in long walks on both Saturday and Sunday in order to become familiar with my new neighborhood and start my journey of finding as many walking routes as possible
  • SET UP HOME OFFICE–so I would feel comfortable doing work in my new surroundings
  • SET UP KITCHEN–because that is the heart of the home for me
  • WENT TO FARMERS MARKET–to buy all the delicious farm-fresh goodies available this time of year and meet with the farmers and artisans that grow/produce them
  • COOKED–because that is what makes a house a home to me…fresh-prepared foods filling up the fridge, freezer and pantry

Here is a recipe for kale chips that I made with the just-picked greens (amongst other amazingly-delicious produce) I purchased from Migliorelli Farms, Tivoli, NY at the Rye Farmers Market (a member of Community Markets).  I choose to share this recipe for this post, because kale chips are a staple in my home when in season.  I make a batch weekly, as we never get sick of snacking on this great health food that cures a crunchy/salty craving. 

Kale is loaded with phytonutrients that may help to prevent certain cancers and is also an excellent source of vitamins K, A and C as well as the mineral manganese.  It is also a good source of fiber. 

Kale Chips

2 heads fresh kale, washed, dried and de-stemmed

Olive oil

Rawmesan (Gopal’s) – a vegan alternative to parmesan cheese made from cashews, nutritional yeast, herbs, spices and Celtic sea salt

Rip the de-stemmed kale leaves into bite-sized pieces and put into mixing bowls.  Drizzle with olive oil and toss with hands to coat the kale.  Sprinkle with Rawmesan to your liking and toss again with hands to coat.  Spread dressed kale on three sheets of dehydrator and dehydrate at 115 degrees until crispy, approximately 12 hours.  If you don’t have a deydrator, place on cookie sheets and bake in oven at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

