Bakery on Main Gluten-Free Granola

If you’ve read any of my previous reviews on granola, then you know. I love the stuff.  So, it is time to do a review of Bakery on Main’s trio of gluten-free granolas – Nutty Cranberry Maple; Extreme Fruit and Nut and; Apple Raisin Walnut. I consider Bakery on Main’s Gluten-Free Granolas more of a cereal than a granola, as they use corn flakes as the primary grain rather than certified gluten-free oats.  The company does have two flavors of gluten-free oat granolas, under the Fiber Power line, but I am not reviewing them here.

Like most granolas, the packaging contains a see-through window so you can look at the ingredients prior to purchasing.  They come in family-size bags and snack packs.  I like that the 1.5oz. snack packs equal one full serving size, so the nutrition facts are not confusing.

All three flavors open to a nice aroma.  The Extreme Fruit and Nut and Nutty Cranberry Maple smelled exactly the same to me.  The Apple Raisin Walnut had a noticeably cinnamon aroma.  Like their ingredients would indicate, all three have the texture of a hearty cereal rather than a granola, but that is fine.  For many, they could equally be eaten with milk, sprinkled over yogurt or straight out of the bag.  They are slightly sweet for my taste as a breakfast cereal; I prefer eating them as an afternoon snack or sprinkled over my favorite foods to add flavor and crunch.

Just like the aroma, the Extreme Fruit and Nut and Nutty Cranberry Maple had a very similar taste to me, minus the cranberries standing out in the latter flavor.  The flavor primarily comes from the grains and sweeteners, not necessarily from the fruit and nut add-ins.  The Apple Raisin Walnut, however, had a distinct apple cinnamon flavor and is my favorite of the trio.    I couldn’t taste the walnuts as much. 

From a nutrition perspective, I like the Apple Raisin Walnut the best as well.  At 8 grams per serving, it has considerably less sugar than the 11 grams in Extreme Fruit and Nut and 12 grams in Nutty Cranberry Maple.  When compared to other granolas, though, these numbers are on par.  They are also low in sodium and each provides a noteworthy 2 grams of fiber and 3-4 grams of protein per serving.

For a non-oat granola, Bakery on Main’s trio of flavors is pretty good.  Again, I’d stick to them as a snack or to sprinkle over a healthful breakfast item.  As a topping to gluten-free hot cereal or yogurt with fresh berries or other fruit, they add a nice flavor profile to an already nutrient-rich meal.  I also see them adding flavor and crunch to baked goods, such as muffins, cookies or sweet breads.

One response to “Bakery on Main Gluten-Free Granola

  1. Good day!This was a really exceptional subject!
    I come from itlay, I was fortunate to come cross your topic in yahoo
    Also I learn a lot in your topic really thanks very much i will come every day

Leave a Reply

