Exercise for achy joints and pains

Do you have achy joints, pains and/or stiffness due to Celiac Disease or other autoimmune disease that is coming in the way of you exercising?  I do.  Here are some ideas for keeping up with an exercise program while allowing yourself to heal.

I haven’t yet figured out why, but for the past 4-5 months I’ve been experiencing pretty severe aches, pains and stiffness in my joints, particularly my wrists, ankles and hips.  It hasn’t stopped me from working out, but it has hindered my flexibility and range of motion.  Until a couple of weeks ago, when I tore or pulled something in my hip, leaving me on the DL (disabled list).  I am scheduled for an MRI this week. 

For aerobic activity, I normally go for long walks, bike or do the elliptical at the gym.  In the past few weeks, I have focused mostly on swimming as it gives my joints a nice break.  The best part about swimming is that it is a major calorie burner, so in no way do I feel as if I’m going light on the exercise.

Swimming is a great form of exercise, but it is NOT weight bearing, which is really important for maintaining bone density and muscle tone.  I am not a sports medicine doctor, so don’t dare to make exercise recommendations for anyone personally, but I have also found success with pilates and yoga as exercise forms that allow me to rest my joints.  Other than skipping a few exercises that target my injured hip, I have been able to participate in classes from beginning to end.  (If you are injured, do not continue exercise without the approval of your doctor).

When attending a pilates or yoga class or private session, it is imperative to let your instructor know about your injuries, so they recommend positions that are safe for your body.

If you are experiencing aches, pain and stiffness due to coming into contact with gluten or another reason you are aware of, then take the necessary steps to get yourself better.  However, if you are experiencing prolonged symptoms and are not sure why, see a doctor.

Leave a Reply

