the Gluten Free Bar – Review and FREE giveaway

There is a new gluten free bar in town…and, sensibly enough, it is called The Gluten Free Bar.

I am not a big fan of energy bars and only eat the brands that are made with real ingredients, so when the founders contacted me to send samples for me to try, I have to admit I was skeptical about whether I would like this new gluten free bar.   

To my surprise, I do like this new player in the gluten-free category.  The Gluten Free Bar comes in two flavors, peanut butter and peanut butter chocolate.  Organic dry roasted peanuts is the first ingredient in both.  Followed by organic brown rice syrup, dates, organic agave nectar, soy protein, semi-sweet chocolate (only for the peanut butter chocolate flavor), organic brown rice, whole flax seeds, vanilla and sea salt.

I wish brown rice syrup wasn’t second on the list, but overall it’s a nice ingredient statement.

The taste and texture is of real crushed peanuts, a refreshing change from the many airy, empty-calorie options out there.  And it is a dense, satisfying bar.  The healthy fats, vegetarian protein and fiber really filled me up.

The nutrient contents of the two bars range from:

  • 235 – 240 calories
  • 9.5 – 10 grams of total fat; 1.5 – 2.5 grams of which are saturated fat
  • 2 – 2.5 grams of fiber
  • 13 – 14.5 grams of sugar
  • 12 – 13 grams of protein

There are a few things I’d be remiss not to mention.  The bar is a little sweet for my taste, but by no means overly sweet.  Both from a taste and nutrition perspective, I’d like to see some of the brown rice syrup and agave nectar taken out.  I think it would still be be very tasty and the sugar content would be lowered (note that the “sugars” content on the nutrition facts panel includes both natural and added sugars, so some of the sugar content is coming from the peanuts, flax and brown rice).

One last thing.  While I love the rich peanut butter taste, I didn’t recognize much chocolate in the peanut butter chocolate flavor.  So, to save myself the additional 5 calories, 1 gram of saturated fat and 1.5 grams of sugar that are in the peanut butter chocolate variety, I will probably stick to buying the peanut butter flavor only.

Overall, I do like this product and will incorporate it into my gluten-free bar repertoire when I want a bar with a little more treat to it.

The first two people to comment on this blog post will receive free samples of The Gluten Free Bar, so please make sure to include your email.

We welcome all comments, but would like to see you share the characteristics (i.e., taste, texture, high protein, high fiber, low fat, etc.) you look for when purchasing a gluten free bar.  With this feedback the founders can incorporate your preferences as they improve and make new products. 

For purchasing information, go to www.theglutenfreebar.com.

5 responses to “the Gluten Free Bar – Review and FREE giveaway

  1. I am a dietetic intern and these look great!

  2. I think the most important thing to a gluten free bar is the “chew”. Most gluten free items tend to be dry. High fiber is key too 🙂

  3. I have been wanting to try these!

  4. As for the characteristics (oops!) I like in a bar, mainly it is flavor and ingredients. Whole ingredients, not too many fake chemical-ingredients and good flavor. I love that there is one that is chocolately, always a good thing! I think that they should be no more than around 150 calroies for the entire bar too. (I come from Weight Watchers-land where protein and fiber are important. As well, if it’s over about 150 calories it becomes a ‘meal’ for me because it would use so many of my points!) Price is always important too. Make it a bit smaller if you have to.

  5. I prefer a bar with only a handful of ingredients so that the flavor profile isn’t too complex – less is definitely more. I like it a bit on the chewy side so that it doesn’t fall apart when I bite into it. And I don’t mind either the calories or the sugar content because I normally only eat bars when I’m active and need/want both. It’s certainly a saturated category, but I wouldn’t touch most bars that are out there, so it’s good to see more gluten-free options.

Leave a Reply

