Simpli™ Gluten Free Instant Oatmeal

Prior to going gluten free, I ate oatmeal almost every single day for breakfast…even in the dog days of summer.  But I’m talking about the real stuff, not the packaged, overly-processed instant oatmeal products out there.  So, when I tried Simpli’s Gluten Free Instant Oatmeal I was delightfully surprised.

Contrary to the long list of ingredients so often found on the packages of instant oatmeal, Simpli’s Gluten Free Instant Oatmeal (Apricot) contains just four REAL ingredients:  oats, apricots, sugar and salt.   So, Simpli passed my first test—an ingredient statement that agrees with my real food philosophy.

Next comes the taste test.  Simpli is thick and hearty compared to the watery mush most instant oatmeals provide.  The directions call for 2/3 cup of water per packet, but if you like your oatmeal on the thicker side, I recommend going with slightly less water.  I was also pleasantly surprised to find it not too sweet.  Just a mild apricot taste.  Overall, Simpli is a gratifying serving of oatmeal that, when rounded out with other nutrient-dense foods, makes for a nutritious breakfast.

One look at the nutrition facts and I see why one packet left me feeling full and satisfied.  Each 170 calorie serving contains 4 grams of fiber, 5 grams of protein and 10% of the daily value for iron.  Not bad considering there are plenty of calories left over for fresh fruit, milk or a sprinkling of nuts or seeds.

The one issue I have with this oatmeal is the 10 grams of sugar per serving, which in my book is a lot, especially when eaten for breakfast.  How much is naturally occurring verses added, I do not know. 

Back to the positive.  I am also impressed with the package.  The entire back panel is dedicated to demonstrating Simpli’s gluten free quality management system, which tracks the oatmeal from oat seeds to store.  The one piece of information curious to me is their use of the phrase “certified gluten free,” when the box showed no stamp from a certifying organization.  In the materials I received with my free samples, it is mentioned that the oatmeal is ELISA R 5 tested.

For you instant oatmeal lovers out there, check for Simpli at your grocery store.  If they don’t have it, ask for it!  You’ll be doing yourself and your gluten free neighbors a favor.

One response to “Simpli™ Gluten Free Instant Oatmeal

  1. I love oats and was so sad to find out they were on the “can’t have” list when I was first diagnosed. I just looked up Simpli online. While the product does look good, it is $5 for one packet of oats! I will stick with Glutenfreeda when I want instant oatmeal (and Bob Red Mill’s GF oats for the other times).

Leave a comment